Fortnite Ice Storm Event Info (Time, Date, Leaks)

 • Jan 17, 2019

Fortnite Ice Storm Event Info (Time, Date, Leaks)

TL;DR: There is an in-game event happening with the Sphere this weekend. Here's are the times and dates for multiple timezones on when it'll happen:


 Jan 19:

  • 11am PST
  • 2pm EST
  • 7pm GMT
  • 8pm CET

Jan 20: 

  • 6am AEDT


EDIT: 24 hours before the event, a new effect has appeared around the sphere, appearing to count down!

loading...


Info, Stories, and Leaks


Since the v7.20 Patch, there has been this gigantic Ice Sphere floating above Polar Peak:

loading...


The Ice Sphere is similar to the Cube from Season 5, and suggests a likely in-game event that would be happening. Further evidence to that theory has appeared on the TV screens around the map (much like the comet and rocket launch teasers in Seasons 3 and 4):

loading...


What is this Ice Storm event? There have been countless leaks over the past few days, all of which seem quite credible. If one were to hover a build inside the Ice Sphere, one might notice that there's a silhouette of a figure:

loading...


This figure is assumed to be the Ice King in the week 7 Battle Pass loading screen, about to unleash a storm upon the map. Previous leaked files have suggested that the map will be covered in snow after this event, although it is unsure if it will be to this extent:


An image by a user on reddit supports this theory, pointing our the extended snow coverage across the map.


Leaked game files have suggested that the Fortnitemares zombies will be returning in a different form for the event.

loading...


Furthermore, there has been another leak suggesting a new set of Event challenges and multiple rewards to go with them.

loading...


There have been more leaks than what have been provided in this article, including footage of what may happen during the event. For purposes of not spoiling too much, we won't include them in this article as Epic has put a great amount of effort into this, and we wish for everyone to have the same sense of wonder we did during the Season 6 cinematic. However, for those interested, here's the correct direction


We're super excited to see what will happen. Make sure you're logged into the game 10-15 minutes before the listed times above, and there's a chance that playground mode might be disabled again, so be ready for it!

Load Next Article
1
6,465
NEXT ARTICLE
Fortnite AMA 2/22/19 - Devs Talk About Upcoming Changes